Cambridge

The green at King's College
The green at King’s College

Saturday I took a day trip out to Cambridge with my study abroad program.  I had such a great time.  We had a great guide who took us on a walking tour around the town and suggested that we go punting on the River Cam, which we ended up doing.  The walking tour was nice because we got to see so much of the town quickly since we were only there for a few hours.  Our guide was originally from Cambridge, so she knew a lot about the town, not just the university.  The university was established in 1209, but people have been living in Cambridge for over 1000 years as the Romans had a settlement there.  Punting was terrifying at first.  I think for the first ten minutes, we were certain that our punt would flip over.  Finally we got the hang of it and Sean was an excellent punter.  We took a nice little cruise down the Cam and got to see several colleges of Cambridge University that way.  When we were halfway done punting, Sean and I switched off and I had to punt us back to the dock.  It was terrifying, mostly because I was convinced that I was going to fall off.  It was fun though, you use a giant pole to push the boat forward.  As long as you don’t get the pole stuck in the mud at the bottom of the river, it’s not too hard.  After punting, we walked down to the center of town and explored a Christmas market that was in the middle of town.  Kelly, Sean, and I went inside King’s chapel after the market.  It was gorgeous.  The chapel is almost 600 years old.  It was massive, and the stained glass windows were impressive.  With the entrance fee to the chapel, we also gained entrance to the green of King’s College in between all of the buildings of that college.  The green was also along the bank of the Cam, so Kelly, Sean, and I hung out in that area before having to head back to the coach for our trip back.  Cambridge was so interesting.  I wish I had been able to spend more than just a few hours there.  It was very laid back there, a nice change from the hustle and bustle of London.

The inside of King's Chapel
The inside of King’s Chapel
King's College on the Cam
King’s College on the Cam
I had my try at punting the boat myself
I had my try at punting the boat myself
Tuti, Marissa, Ryan, Mary, and Alex punting.
Tuti, Marissa, Ryan, Mary, and Alex punting.
Punting on the River Cam
Punting on the River Cam
Sean, Kelly, and I punting
Sean, Kelly, and I punting
Eileen & Sabrina while punting
Eileen & Sabrina while punting
King's Parade
King’s Parade
Trinity College
Trinity College
This tree is a descendant of the tree that dropped an apple on Sir Isaac Newton's head which caused him to develop his theory of gravity.
This tree is a descendant of the tree that dropped an apple on Sir Isaac Newton’s head which caused him to develop his theory of gravity.
King's College
King’s College
Leave a Reply

